Order of Tasting

  • admin
  • March 22, 2014
  • 0 Comment

Tasting should begin with white wines, and then move on to the red wines. Wines should be tasted in order of body-style, starting with light, then medium, and then full-bodied. (Light-bodied wines have the lowest alcoholic content, while full-bodied wines have the highest alcoholic content.) For whites, the order should be Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc and then Chardonnay. For reds, the tasting order would be Pinot Noir, Merlot, and then Cabernet Sauvignon. Other orders of importance are from dry to sweet, from young to old, from high acidity to low acidity, from light oak to strong oak, and from low tannins to high tannins.

Our Sponsors